Fish head soup

My first food post and what is more appropriate than one of my oldest favourites..fish head soup. A friend had been fishing so I rescued his scraps,

a snapper and a pearl perch, with lots of meat on the bones as well as the heads. I can’t believe some fishermen waste so much by just taking a fillet off each side of the fish.    I removed as many scales as possible, cut the heads off and boiled the bones in water for a few minutes, then removed as much meat as I could. The heads were also done, and the water was strained to remove scales and then kept as my soup stock.

Onion, celery and carrots were added, along with the fish meat and some pepper, and that was it. 

 

Of course, my favourite part, and the reason pearl perch with their huge eyes were so good for this soup, are the eyes.

Yummmm

Leave a Reply

