Crocodile casserole

Tonight I used the left over 250 gms of uncooked crocodile meat from yesterday’s BBQ to make a casserole. In a hurry (it was late and I was getting hungry) I sliced a couple of small potatoes and an onion and put them in the casserole dish. I then added a clove of garlic, a teaspoon of crushed ginger, some ground cummin seeds (1/4 teaspoon) and a similar quantity of shrimp sauce (very shrimpy, very salty). I laid the crocodile meat pieces on top, and then added water (out of stock) to half cover the meat. I cooked this in the oven for about an hour at 180°c and then another 20 minutes or so with the lid off. And the result? Crikey this crocodile is good. The crocodile, which was rubbery yesterday, was melt in your mouth tender, and the delicate taste of the meat was enhanced rather than overpowered by the small amount of seasoning that I used. A much better result than yesterdays BBQ, a meal I will happily cook again if I can get more crocodile.

Leave a Reply

