Blood Sausage (black pudding)

For anyone who may not know, black pudding is made from pigs blood. I have only eaten black pudding once since I was a child, and I liked it very much (see ‘Haggis, mutton bird and black pudding’ post). I was recently given a copy of Chris Badenoch from Masterchef’s book The Entire Beast, and it has inspired me in many ways. His recipe for blood sausage with poached egg yolk looked amazing, so I had to try it. I don’t for one minute pretend to be able to cook anywhere near as well as Chris, so I have really just taken the basic idea and simplified it to match my skills and the ingredients I had to hand. I cut the black pudding into thick slices and fried them in oil until crunchy. The eggs yolks were separated from the whites and were poached for about a minute, then the sausage and eggs were placed on a slice of toast and seasoned.

In his book Chris says ‘if you use cage eggs and supermarket black pudding – it will be crap’. Well, that’s pretty much what I used, and it was really delicious. So I would love to try this breakfast prepared by Chris. I really recommend both this meal and ‘The Entire Beast’.

4 responses to “Blood Sausage (black pudding)

  1. Ooh, now that looks superb! I can picture that for breakfast along with a glass of black velvet.

  2. I consider myself quite the adventurous eater and have given black pudding a few tries but, no matter how much I try to enjoy it, I just can’t bring myself to swallow its very strong taste.. Your breakfast looks nice though (I’d just settle for plain sausages I think..)

Leave a Reply

