Tripe and onions

This is a dish I remember from my childhood. I think we had it fairly often and I always loved it. Tripe seems to be out of fashion nowadays, and when I cooked some a year or so ago I didn’t much like it, it was rubbery and not a particularly nice taste. But I just had to try it again. The tripe I bought was the honeycomb tripe, apparently from the second stomach. I googled a recipe and pretty much stuck to it, first placing it in cold water, bringing to the boil, then draining and rinsing before cutting into 2.5cm pieces. I then put tripe, onions, milk, a bay leaf, salt and pepper into a pot and simmered for almost 3 hours. I then melted butter in a pan, added flour and cooked for a minute or two, then stirred in the cooking liquid, and cooked until it thickened. The onions and tripe were then added and reheated.

The verdict?   Maybe slightly more palatable than last time, but still rubbery and not a really nice flavour (and it really doesn’t smell nice while cooking). I can’t imagine that I would have liked this all those years ago if it was like this. Makes me wonder if tripe has changed a bit, now that it is probably from feedlot cattle, fed grain and very little if any grass. I’d be interested to hear opinions on that.

 

One response to “Tripe and onions

  1. Tripe requires a little bit of processing. I guess back in the day the poor had the left over scraps to eat, which included tripe. It if very rich and fatty if prepared right. When I make stew I prepare it the following way.

    1. wash and scrub it, remove hard pieces of tissues, scrap / cut as much fat from it as you can. The fat is the white lard looking stuff on the opposite side of the “honeycomb” of the tripe.

    2. boil it in lots of water with about tablespoon of seasalt & 2 tbls per quart of water.

    3. after boiling then simmering it for a couple hours, when I seems to start becoming tender. rinse it in freshwater.
    4. chop it into small bite size slices/pieces, add your veggies like you would a beef stew.
    The pre-cooking it helps to tenderize it and remove the smell. The result is a rich stew similar to oxtail. Made right it becomes basically “Jello” when put into the fridge.

Leave a Reply

